Ruth Larson—I’ve Now Joined Your Club!

September 25, 2010

Paloma Vanessa

Paloma Vanessa, born September 19, 2010

Well, for the past week I’ve been basking in the glorious rays of grandmotherhood!

Welcome to Paloma Vanessa, born Sunday, September 19, at 10:22 p.m, weighing 6 lbs. 7 oz. She arrived strong, healthy and easily. According to her parents, she eats like a machine!

Isn’t she adorable?

Of course she is. And, of course, I will agree because I am her grandmother!

As I’ve shared her pictures with everyone I can find (because that’s what grandmothers do, right?), it’s interesting to hear who people think she looks like. Genetics are a fascinating science and it’s amazing how characteristics pass from generation to generation.

Paloma, which is Spanish for dove, is the beautiful union of European and Latin descents. Her father, my son Josh, carries the German and Swedish heritages we’ve previously discussed, along with a smorgasbord of other European roots.

Her mother, Kathy, is Chilean (this is evidenced by the fact that she was cooking sapopillas and empanadas just hours before Paloma was born:-) Chileans are also somewhat multi-cultural and Kathy is of Mapuche, Chile’s indigenous people, and Spanish descent. She even suspects a spattering of German since blue eyes have shown up in her family.

Naturally, my family thinks Paloma sees our side of the family. Her maternal family likely sees their side.

I see Paloma. I see a beautiful, little girl who is loved so dearly.

Welcome Princess Paloma!

4 Responses to “Ruth Larson—I’ve Now Joined Your Club!”

  1. Terri Says:

    Move over all you Swedes and Krauts, there is a new beauty in the gene pool!! Welcome Paloma! You are a beautiful young lady with an interesting family history. We all love you loads!

  2. Ann Says:

    She looks so beautiful and peaceful. Welcome to earth, Paloma!

  3. Rhonda Says:

    She is a beautiful baby, Di – and a lucky girl to have you for a grandma. Congrats!

  4. Kathy Says:

    We (Josh and I) see Paloma as her own person too. That’s the reason why we picked the name “paloma”. To me, Paloma sounds like freedom and happiness at the same time. I just know that I love Paloma more than everything : )


Leave a Reply

