Exciting News

January 28, 2010


Tonight I learned I’m to become a grandmother!

This is the first time I’ve received such news and, as you can imagine, I’m ecstatic. I’ve been patiently waiting for this day and now that it’s here, I’m at a loss for words. I am just so excited!

Perhaps I should I be making booties instead of bells?

When Ruth first learned she was going to be grandmother, I imagine she got right to knitting and crocheting. She was ahead of me in so many ways. She had her first grandchild, my older sister, when she was 46. I’ll be 51. She was very accomplished in her needlework skills. I’m just learning.

Times sure have changed. These days, Generation Y waits longer to have their children and people learn to knit from the internet. But one thing certainly is the same: Grandmothers love those grandbabies!

And, oh boy, I’m going to love mine!

P.S. The stadium booties pattern is from my friend Ann Foley. Since becoming a grandmother five years ago, Ann has used her family’s vintage pattern for knitting lots of booties.

Leave a Reply

